Skip to main content

Southwest Florida Research & Education Center

Southwest Florida Research & Education Center

SWFREC supports thirteen faculty programs and a staff of more than 90 people. Active research programs in citrus horticulture, vegetable horticulture, irrigation and water resource management, precision agricultural engineering, pest management, plant pathology, citrus pathology, agricultural and natural resource economics, soil microbiology, plant physiology, weed science, soil science, and agricultural economics occur on 320 acres of land at SWFREC. The faculty and staff of SWFREC serve a vibrant commercial agricultural region.

SWFREC Directory

Kelly T Morgan

Professor and Center Director, Ph.D.

Soil & Water Sciences

conserv@ufl.edu

Website

UF / IFAS SWFREC - Immokalee 
2685 SR 29 N | Immokalee, FL 34142
Tel:(239) 658-3413
Fax:(239) 658-3403

Gene McAvoy

Gene McAvoy

Associate Director for Stakeholder Relations

gmcavoy@ufl.edu

Website

UF / IFAS SWFREC - Immokalee 
2685 SR 29 N | Immokalee, FL 34142
Tel:(239) 658-3414
Fax:(239) 658-3403

Ute Albrecht

Ute Albrecht

Assistant Professor, Ph.D.

Plant Physiology

ualbrecht@ufl.edu

Website

UF / IFAS SWFREC - Immokalee 
2685 SR 29 N | Immokalee, FL 34142
Tel:(239) 658-3422
Fax:(239) 658-3403

Ozgur Batuman

Assistant Professor, Ph.D.

Citrus Pathology

obatuman@ufl.edu

Website

UF / IFAS SWFREC - Immokalee 
2685 SR 29 N | Immokalee, FL 34142
Tel:(239) 658-3408
Fax:(239) 658-3403

Jawwad Qureshi

Assistant Professor, Ph.D.

Entomology & Nematology

JawwadQ@ufl.edu

Website

UF / IFAS SWFREC - Immokalee 
2685 SR 29 N | Immokalee, FL 34142
Tel:(239) 658-3458
Fax:(239) 658-3403

Sarah L Strauss

Assistant Professor, Ph.D.

Soil Microbiology

strauss@ufl.edu

Website

UF / IFAS SWFREC - Immokalee 
2685 SR 29 N | Immokalee, FL 34142
Tel:(239) 658-3468
Fax:(239) 658-3403

Fernando Alferez

Assistant Professor, Ph.D.

Citrus Horticulture

alferez@ufl.edu

Website

UF / IFAS SWFREC - Immokalee 
2685 SR 29 N | Immokalee, FL 34142
Tel:(239) 658-3426
Fax:(239) 658-3403

Ramdas Kanissery

Assistant Professor, Ph.D.

Weed Science

rkanissery@ufl.edu

Website

UF / IFAS SWFREC - Immokalee 
2685 SR 29 N | Immokalee, FL 34142
Tel:(239) 658-3455
Fax:(239) 658-3403

old_robert-office_465x424

Pamela D Roberts

Professor, Ph.D.

Plant Pathology

pdr@ufl.edu

Website

UF / IFAS SWFREC - Immokalee 
2685 SR 29 N | Immokalee, FL 34142
Tel:(239) 658-3430
Fax:(239) 658-3403

Tara R Wade

Assistant Professor, Ph.D.

Agricultural Economics

Tara.Wade@ufl.edu

Website

UF / IFAS SWFREC - Immokalee 
2685 SR 29 N | Immokalee, FL 34142
Tel:(239) 658-3444
Fax:(239) 658-3403

Ioannis Ampatzidis

Ioannis Ampatzidis

Assistant Professor, Ph.D.

Precision Agriculture

i.ampatzidis@ufl.edu

Website

UF / IFAS SWFREC - Immokalee 
2685 SR 29 N | Immokalee, FL 34142
Tel:(239) 658-3451
Fax:(239) 658-3403

Kimberly Morgan

Assistant Professor, Ph.D.

Agricultural Economics

kimorgan@ufl.edu

Website

UF / IFAS SWFREC - Immokalee 
2685 SR 29 N | Immokalee, FL 34142
Tel:(239) 658-3428
Fax:(239) 658-3403

2015_Shukla_S_465x581

Sanjay Shukla

Professor, Ph.D.

Ag & Bio Engineering / Water

sshukla@ufl.edu

Website

UF / IFAS SWFREC - Immokalee 
2685 SR 29 N | Immokalee, FL 34142
Tel:(239) 658-3425
Fax:(239) 658-3403

Phillip B Williams

Assistant Professor, Ph.D.

Vegetable Horticulture

phillipwilliams@ufl.edu

Website

UF / IFAS SWFREC - Immokalee 
2685 SR 29 N | Immokalee, FL 34142
Tel:(239) 658-3410
Fax:(239) 658-3403

2015_Arnold_C_465x581

Dr. Calvin Arnold
Professor Emeritus
Horticultural Sciences
cearnold@ufl.edu

Dr. Edward A. Hanlon
Professor Emeritus
Soil and Water Science
eahanlon@ufl.edu

ADMINISTRATION

NameTitlePHONEEMAIL
Kelly Morgan Professor and Center Director (239) 658-3413 conserv@ufl.edu
Gene McAvoy Associate Director for Stakeholder Relations (239) 658-3414 gmcavoy@ufl.edu
Jordan Breland Operations Manager (239) 658-3421 jordanbreland@ufl.edu

CLERICAL AND PURCHASING

NameTitlePHONEEMAIL
Denise Bates Administrative Support AST II (239) 658-3424 ddbates@ufl.edu
Rebecca Decker Human Resources Generalist I (239) 658-3420 rdecker54@ufl.edu
Janice Hill Accountant I (239) 658-3450 jthill@ufl.edu
Zoe Watson Administrative Assistant (239) 658-3434 zshobert@ufl.edu

FARM FLEET AND FACILITIES OPERATIONS

NameTitlePHONEEMAIL
Perfecto Aragus Agricultural Assistant I (239) 658-3400 pgaragus@ufl.edu
Cindy Cortright Custodial Worker II (239) 658-3400 c.wilder@ufl.edu
Lenel Jones Agricultural Assistant I (239) 658-3400 lejones@ufl.edu
Roger McGill Maintenance Generalist II (239) 658-3400 frmc@ufl.edu
Jorge Ocanas Agricultural Assistant (239) 658-3400 ocanasrj@ufl.edu
Jose Rosas Agricultural Assistant I (239) 658-3400 josegrosas@ufl.edu
Ivan Rua Agricultural Assistant I (239) 658-3400 irua@ufl.edu

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

NameTitlePHONEEMAIL
Kevin Hill IT Professional II (239) 658-3439 kuh@ufl.edu
Marisol Sanchez Gonzalez Applic Developer Analyst II (239) 658-3435 sanchezm@ufl.edu

MEDIA

NameTitlePHONEEMAIL
Julie Carson Marketing and Comm Specialist (239) 658-3462 carsonj@ufl.edu

AGRICULTURAL ECONOMICS

NameTitlePHONEEMAIL
Kimberly L Morgan  Associate Professor (239) 658-3428 kimorgan@ufl.edu 
Barbara Hyman Education/Training Spec III (239) 658-3461 hymanb@ufl.edu

AGRICULTURAL NATURAL RESOURCES ECONOMICS

NameTitlePHONEEMAIL
Tara Wade Assistant Professor (239) 658-3444 Tara.Wade@ufl.edu
Shelly Goodwin Data Management Analyst I (239) 658-3400 shellygoodwin@ufl.edu

PRECISION AGRICULTURAL ENGINEERING

NameTitlePHONEEMAIL
Ioannis Ampatzidis Assistant Professor (239) 658-3451 i.ampatzidis@ufl.edu
Jaafar Abdulridha Post Doctoral Research Associate (239) 658-3400 ftash@ufl.edu
Lucas Fideles Costa OPS Engineer (239) 658-3400 lfidelescosta@ufl.edu
Sri Kakarla Engineering and Research Technologist (239) 324-4794 charanksri@ufl.edu
Victor Meirelles Partel Engineering and Research Technologist (239) 658-3400 vmeirellespartel@ufl.edu
Israel Ojo Graduate Research Assistant (239) 658-3400 israelojo@ufl.edu
Vinay Vijayakumar Graduate Assistant (239) 658-3400 v66vijayakumar@ufl.edu

WATER RESOURCES

NameTitlePHONEEMAIL
Sanjay Shukla Professor (239) 658-3425 sshukla@ufl.edu
Angelica Lomeu Graduate Research Assistant (239) 658-3400 amengel@ufl.edu
Kira Hansen Graduate Research Assistant (239) 658-3400 khansen5@ufl.edu
Gregory Hendricks Engineer III (239) 658-3466 hendrick@ad.ufl.edu
Israel Ojo Graduate Research Assistant (239) 658-3400 israelojo@ufl.edu
Vijay Santikari Post Doctoral Associate (239) 658-3418 vsantikari@ufl.edu

ENTOMOLOGY

NameTitlePHONEEMAIL
Jawwad Qureshi Assistant Professor (239) 658-3458 JawwadQ@ufl.edu
Mohamed Ali Graduate Student (239) 658-3400 mohamed.ali@ufl.edu
Jean Yves Berisse Graduate Research Assistant (239) 658-3400 jberisse@ufl.edu
Barry Kostyk Biological Scientist IV (239) 658-3457 bkostyk@ufl.edu
Benny Pena Agricultural Assistant I (239) 658-3400 benitopena@ufl.edu
Gabriel Rugno Post Doctoral Associate (239) 658-3400 gabrielrugno@ufl.edu
Esmaeil Saberi Post Doctoral Associate (239) 658-3400 esaberi@ufl.edu
Monica Triana Agricultural Assistant III (239) 658-3400 mtriana@ufl.edu

CITRUS HORTICULTURE

NameTitlePHONEEMAIL
Fernando Alferez Assistant Professor (239) 658-3426 alferez@ufl.edu
Marwa Ahmed OPS Research Assistant (239) 658-3400 marwa.ahmed@ufl.edu
Daniel Boakye Graduate Assistant-Research (239) 658-3400 dadu.boakye@ufl.edu
Susmita Gaire Graduate Assistant-Research (239) 658-3400 gaire.susmita@ufl.edu
Timothy Gast Biological Scientist III (239) 658-3442 tcgast@ufl.edu
Maria Martinez OPS (239) 658-3400 martinezmaria@ufl.edu

PLANT PHYSIOLOGY

NameTitlePHONEEMAIL
Ute Albrecht Assistant Professor (239) 658-3422 ualbrecht@ufl.edu
Leigh Archer Graduate Assistant-Research (239) 658-3400 larcher1@ufl.edu
Shahrzad Bodaghi Graduate Assistant-Research (239) 658-3400 shahrzad.bodaghi@ufl.edu
Gabriel de Castro Marconi Pugina Agricultural Assistant II (239) 658-3420 gabrieldecastro@ufl.edu
Caroline de Favari Tardivo Graduate Assistant-Research (239) 658-3400 caroline.defava@ufl.edu
Anas Fadli Post Doctoral Associate (239) 658-3400 a.fadli@ufl.edu
Adam Hoeffner Laboratory Technician II (239) 658-3453 hoeffnera@ufl.edu
Sudip Kunwar Graduate Assistant-Research (239) 658-3400 skunwar@ufl.edu
Bryce Meyering Biological Scientist II (239) 658-3416 bbmeyering@ufl.edu
Sameer Pokhrel Graduate Assistant-Research (239) 658-3400 sameerpokhrel@ufl.edu
Aditi Satpute Post Doctoral Associate (239) 658-3400 aditisatpute@ufl.edu
Indu Tripathi Post Doctoral Associate (239) 324-4744 itripathi@ufl.edu

WEED SCIENCE

NameTitlePHONEEMAIL
Ramdas Kanissery Assistant Professor (239) 658-3455 rkanissery@ufl.edu
Robert Riefer Biological Scientist I (239) 658-3400 reriefer@ufl.edu

CITRUS PATHOLOGY

NameTitlePHONEEMAIL
Ozgur Batuman Assistant Professor (239) 658-3408 obatuman@ufl.edu
Kellee Britt Graduate Assistant (239) 658-3400 kbritt2005@ufl.edu
Sanju Kunwar Post Doctoral Associate (239) 658-3400  sanju.kunwar@ufl.edu
Ana Redondo Research Coordinator II (239) 658-3400 redondo@ufl.edu
Martha Silva OPS Research Assistant (239) 658-3400 martha.silva@ufl.edu
Jessica Torres Velez Graduate Assistant-Research (239) 658-3400 j.torresvelez@ufl.edu
Nicholas Tezna Triana OPS Technical (239) 658-3400 nteznatriana@ufl.edu
Salih Yilmas Graduate Research Assistant (239) 658-3400 salihyilmaz@ufl.edu

VEGETABLES PLATHOLOGY

NameTitlePHONEEMAIL
Pamela Roberts Professor (239) 658-3430 pdr@ufl.edu
Katherine Hendricks Biological Scientist IV (239) 658-3445 jinxkat@ufl.edu
Camille McAvoy Assistant Research Scientist (239) 658-3400 cami13@ufl.edu
Stephanie Teems Research Coordinator (239) 6583400 ssteems@ufl.edu

SOIL AND WATER SCIENCE

NameTitlePHONEEMAIL
Alisheikh Atta Post Doctoral Associate (239) 658-3400 aatta@ufl.edu
Said Hamido Post Doctoral Associate (239) 658-3400 shamido@ufl.edu
Kamal Mahmoud Research Coordinator II (239) 658-3419 kaem@ufl.edu
Ann Summeralls Agricultural Assistant III (239) 658-3400 absu@ufl.edu

SOIL MICROBIOLOGY

NameTitlePHONEEMAIL
Sarah Strauss Assistant Professor (239) 658-3468 strauss@ufl.edu
Antonio Castellano Hinojosa Post Doctoral Associate (239) 658-3400 antonio.castella@ufl.edu
Brittney Monus Biological Scientist (239) 658-3447 bmonus@ufl.edu
Clayton Nevins Graduate Assistant-Research (239) 658-3400 nevinsc@ufl.edu
Diderot Saintilma OPS Research Assistant (239) 658-3400 dsaintilma@ufl.edu
Kira Sorochkina Graduate Assistant-Research (239) 658-3400 k.sorochkina@ufl.edu

VEGETABLE HORTICULTURE

NameTitlePHONEEMAIL
Phillip Williams Assistant Professor (239) 658-3410 phillipwilliams@ufl.edu
Jessie Watson Biological Scientist II (239) 658-3404 jwatson84@ufl.edu

CURRENT STUDENTS

NameTitleProgramResearch Topic
Mohamed Ali PhD student Entomology Management of Asian Citrus Psyllid
Leigh Archer PhD student Plant Physiology Tree Physiological Responses to Trunk Injection of Therapeutics for HLB Control
Timothy Ayankojo PhD Student Soil Science Irrigation and Nitrogen Management in Tomato Production Using SmartIrrigation Scheduling Model
Daniel Boakye PhD Student Citrus Horticulture Basis for Understanding Abscission and Managing Pre-harvest Fruit Drop in HLB Affected Citrus Trees
Shahrzad Bodaghi PhD Student Plant Physiology Evaluation of Scion-rootstock Interaction in Response to HLB
Kellee Britt PhD Student Citrus Pathology Unraveling the Asian Citrus Psyllid Virome and Its Interactions with Candidatus Liberibacter Asiaticus in FL Citrus
Angelica Engel PhD Student Water Resources Flows in the Northern Everglades Basin Under Current and Future Climate and Sea Levels: Drivers, Modeling, and Management
Susmita Gaire MS Student Plant Physiology Preventing Young Trees from Psyllids and Infection with Clas through Use of Protective Netting
Biwek Gairhe MS Student Weed Science Glyphosate in Florida Citrus Production System: Environmental Fate and Effects on Citrus Health
Shirin Ghatrehsamani PhD Student Precision Ag Simulation of Heat and Canopy of Disease-infected Trees Inside Mobile Heat Treatment Canopy Cover
Kira Hansen PhD Student Water Resources Improved Food-Water-Energy-Disease-Land Nexus from Compact Bed Plasticulture for Fresh Produce
Sudip Kunwar MS Student Plant Physiology Evaluation of Different Citrus Rootstocks’ Response to HLB in Large-scale Commercial Field Trial
Clayton Nevins PhD Student Soil Microbiology Investigating Biological Soil Crusts and Nutrient Availability in Citrus Agroecosystems
Sameer Pokhrel MS Student Plant Physiology Comparison of Field Performance of Citrus Trees on Rootstocks Propagated by Seedlings, Cuttings, and Tissue Culture
Moonwon Soh PhD Student Ag Economics Multi-conservation Practice Adoption
Kira Sorochkina PhD Student Soil Microbiology Nitrogen Fixation in Agroecosystem Biological Soil Crusts
David Toole MS Student Soil Microbiology Bioinformatic Techniques to Determine Soil Microbial Functions
Jessica Torres Velez PhD Student Citrus Pathology Evaluate transport, dynamics, and efficacy of therapeutic treatments, applied in citrus trees through novel delivery methods, for management of Candidatus liberibacter asiaticus, the bacteria associated with Huanglongbing.
Salih Yilmaz PhD Student Citrus Pathology Working on Phloem-limited Pathogens in Economically Important Crops in Florida